A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

Semyon Chudin

Principal Dancer, Bolshoi Theater of Russia

Dance Open: 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017


Born in Barnaul. Graduated from Novosibirsk Choreographic College. Straight after the graduation he joined the Universal Ballet Company (Republic of Korea) as the principal dancer, in 2007–2008 he was the principal with the Zurich Ballet. In 2008 he was invited by Sergei Filin to join the Stanislavsky and Nemirovich-Danchenko Moscow Music Theatre as the principal dancer. Since 2011 he has been dancing with the Bolshoi Ballet.

He is twice the award winner at the Seoul International Dance Competition (2004 and 2006), the winner of the Soul of the Dance award in the Star nomination (2011) and the Benois de la Danse International Dance Association prize (2011). His repertoire is remarkably wide and includes works by M. Petipa, A. Bournonville, A.Gorsky, M.Fokine, G. Balanchine, V.Vainonen, Y. Grigorovich, O. Vinogradov, F. Ashton, J. Neumeier, P. Lacotte, P. Lightfoot, D. Bryantsev, N. Duato, C. Wheeldon, K. Shperly, J. Kylián, J. Elo, M. Ek. J. Cranko and many others.

Semyon is an example of a great talent who could have achieved everything without putting much effort, but he prefers to take the most difficult decisions instead. As soon as he reaches one level, he sets a new creative goal to achieve. His path from the graduate of the Novosibirsk Choreographic College to the principal dancer with the Bolshoi might not seem straightforward and simple, but he took the most out of each stage in it in the technical, creative and artistic way.

His manner of dance is distinguished by the great skill, spectacular lines, elegancy and the immaculate performing. As for the spectators, they are conquered by Chudin-artist who is at times brave, powerful, bright, capable to win the attention of the great audience, at times strikingly romantic and touching, and always one of a kind.

He won the Dance Open International Ballet Award twice in 2014 (Mister Virtuosity) and 2016 (Grand Prix).