of the St. Petersburg international ballet award DANCE OPEN


Initiation of the DANCE OPEN Award in 2010 aroused an interest of many key figures of the ballet world. Fundamental principle of the international jury – objectiveness and uninvolvement. During Gala of international ballet stars DANCE OPEN the real level of dancers is being judged, not their potential or past endeavors. DANCE OPEN Award means estimation by respected figures from the ballet world, that’s why it is so appreciated by professionals.

Over the years the Award gained doubtless prestige in world’s ballet society. First of all thanks to the authority of the jury members. It is comprised of representatives of different choreographic schools - academism and avant-garde, leaders of classical and contemporary ballet companies, ballet legends and revolutionists, who changed the concept of the dance itself...

Jury of the DANCE OPEN Award is truly international. Most renowned and respected figures from Germany, France, Netherlands, USA, Great Britain, Austria, Slovenia, Ukraine, Poland, Finland, Slovakia, Italy and Hugary come to St. Petersburg for the awarding. Representatives of Russian theatres – Bolshoi Ballet, Mariinsky theatre, Stanislavski and Nemirovich-Danchenko Moscow Academic Music Theatre and Eifman Ballet – annually leave couple of days free to participate in the jury work.

The festival is proud, that once participating in the jury work, masters of contemporary ballet become friends of DANCE OEPN. For instance, the decision to bring a unique choreographic programme came to Hans van Manen during his work at the Award in 2013, and Manuel Legris planned Vienna State Ballet’s tour in St. Petersburg while taking part in jury sessions in 2014.